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Income Tax Relief for Small Businesses

On June 28, 2006, the Kentucky General Assembly
enacted House Bill 1 during an unprecedented five-day
Special Session. The bill was signed into law by Gov.
Fletcher the same day. The following is a summary of
the main provisions of HB 1:

Small Business Alternative Minimum Calculation
(AMC) Relief—Effective for Taxable Years
Beginning on or After Jan. 1, 2006, and Before Jan.
1, 2007

Effective for taxable years beginning on or after Jan. 1,
2006, and before Jan. 1, 2007, the AMC is not due from
a corporation if the corporation’s gross receipts or gross
profits from all sources are $3 million or less. This relief
applies to limited liability companies (LLCs), S
corporations, limited liability partnerships, limited
partnerships and C corporations.

Effective for taxable years beginning on or after Jan. 1,
2006, and before Jan. 1, 2007, the AMC is partially
reduced for taxpayers with gross receipts or gross profits
from all sources in excess of $3 million, but less than $6
million. The reduction in the AMC due is based upon
one of two formulas, depending on whether the AMC
is calculated on gross receipts or gross profits.

1. Ky. Gross Receipts x .00095

Minus $2,850 x $6.000,000—KYy. Gross Receipts
$3,000,000

2. Ky. Gross Profits x .0075
Minus $22,500 x $6,000,000—Ky. Gross Profits
$3,000,000

Taxpayers who receive the threshold AMC relief still
owe the $175 minimum tax due for tax years beginning
on or after Jan. 1, 2006, and before Jan. 1, 2007, provided
that the $175 minimum is greater than the regular income
tax or AMC amount.

Restoration of Federal Pass-through Entity
Treatment for Taxable Years Beginning on or After
Jan. 1, 2007

For taxable years beginning on or after Jan. 1, 2007, all
pass-through entities will be treated the same for
Kentucky income tax purposes as they are treated for
federal income tax purposes except for differences
between Kentucky law and federal law. This treatment
is sometimes referred to as federal conformity. LLCs, S
corporations, limited liability partnerships and limited
partnerships will no longer be taxed at the entity level
under the corporation income tax. The income will be
passed through and taxed at the ownership level.

For taxable years beginning on or after Jan. 1, 2005, and
before Jan. 1, 2007, pass-through entities remain subject
to the corporation income tax imposed by KRS 141.040
unless the entity is specifically exempted under KRS
141.040(1).

The bill requires withholding of the income tax due from
nonresident individual owners of pass-through entities
and from corporate owners of pass-through entities if
the corporate owner’s only business connection to
Kentucky is the ownership interest in a pass-through
entity doing business here. This change applies to
taxable years beginning on or after Jan. 1, 2007.

Continued on page 2
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Top Corporation Income Tax Rate Reduction—
Effective for Taxable Years Beginning on or After
Jan. 1, 2007

The current law, which reduces the top corporation
income tax rate to 6 percent, remains unchanged. This
rate drop from 7 percent remains effective for taxable
years beginning on or after Jan. 1, 2007.

New Limited Liability Entity Tax Replaces AMC—
Effective for Taxable Years Beginning on or After
Jan. 1, 2007

Effective for taxable years beginning on or after Jan. 1,
2007, a limited liability entity (LLE) tax is imposed on
corporations and limited liability pass-through entities
except those entities that are exempted by subsection
(6) of Section 4 of HB 1. The entities exempt from the
LLE tax are listed at the end of this section. A minimum
of $175 will be due from those entities subject to this
new tax.

Except for the $175 minimum, the LLE tax will not
apply if the entities’ gross receipts or gross profits from
all sources are $3 million or less.

Except for the $175 minimum, the LLE tax will be
partially reduced for taxpayers with gross receipts or
gross profits from all sources in excess of $3 million,
but less than $6 million. The reduction in the LLE tax
due is based on one of two formulas, depending on
whether the LLE tax is calculated on gross receipts or
gross profits.

1. Ky. Gross Receipts x .00095
Minus $2,850 x $6,000,000—Ky. Gross Receipts
$3,000,000

2. Ky. Gross Profits x .0075
Minus $22,500 x $6,000,000—Ky. Gross Profits
$3,000,000

Entities that are exempted from the LLE tax are:

1. Financial institutions, as defined in KRS 136.500,
except banker's banks organized under KRS
287.135 or 286.3-135;

10.

11.

12.

13.

14.

Savings and loan associations organized under the
laws of this state and under the laws of the U.S.
and making loans to members only;

Banks for cooperatives;

Production credit associations;

Insurance companies, including farmers' or other

mutual hail, cyclone, windstorm or fire insurance

companies, insurers and reciprocal underwriters;

Corporations or other entities exempt under Section

501 of the Internal Revenue Code (IRC);

Religious, educational, charitable or like

corporations not organized or conducted for

pecuniary profit;

Corporations whose only owned or leased property

located in this state is located at the premises of a

printer with which it has contracted for printing,

provided that:

a. the property consists of the final printed
product, or copy from which the printed
product is produced; and

b. the corporation has no individuals receiving
compensation in this state as provided in KRS
141.120(8)(b);

Public service corporations subject to tax under

KRS 136.120;

Open-end registered investment companies

organized under the laws of this state and registered

under the Investment Company Act of 1940;

Any property or facility that has been certified as a

fluidized bed energy production facility as defined

in KRS 211.390;

An alcohol production facility as defined in KRS

247.910;

Real estate investment trusts as defined in Section

856 of the IRC;

Regulated investment companies as defined in

Section 851 of the IRC;

Real estate mortgage investment conduits as

defined in Section 860D of the IRC;

Personal service corporations as defined in Section

269A(b)(1) of the IRC;

. Cooperatives described in Sections 521 and 1381

of the IRC, including farmers' agricultural and other
cooperatives organized or recognized under KRS
Chapter 272, advertising cooperatives, purchasing
cooperatives, homeowner's associations including
those described in Section 528 of the IRC, political

Continued on page 3
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organizations as defined in Section 527 of the IRC,
and rural electric and rural telephone cooperatives;
or

18. Publicly traded partnerships as defined by Section
7704(b) of the IRC that are treated as partnerships
for federal tax purposes under Section 7704(c) of
the IRC or their publicly traded partnership
affiliates. "Publicly traded partnership affiliates™
shall include any LLC or limited partnership for
which at least 80 percent of the LLC member
interests or limited partner interests are owned
directly or indirectly by the publicly traded
partnership.

New Limited Liability Entity Tax is a Credit Against
Income Tax—Effective for Taxable Years Beginning
on or After Jan. 1, 2007

Any corporation that is subject to the corporation income
tax and LLE tax may use the LLE tax due as a credit
against the corporation income tax. This credit is reduced
by the $175 minimum tax due and is nonrefundable.
The credit shall not be carried forward to future periods.

An individual, limited liability pass-through entity or
corporation that owns a percentage of a limited liability
pass-through entity will receive as a nonrefundable
credit, a proportionate share of the LLE tax paid by the
limited liability pass-through entity. This pass-through
credit may be used against individual income tax,
corporation income tax or LLE tax depending on the
type of ownership. The amount of credit passed through
will be reduced by the $175 minimum tax due. The credit
allowed to members, shareholders or partners of a
limited liability pass-through entity shall only be applied
to income tax due on income from the limited liability
pass-through entity.

Other Credits Against the LLE Tax—Effective for
Taxable Years Beginning on or After Jan. 1, 2007

As with the AMC, the economic development tax
credits, e.g, KREDA, KIRA, etc., may be used against

the LLE tax liability. Also, other income tax credits, e.g.,
recycling and biodiesel credits may be used against the
LLE tax liability.

Apportionment

A multistate pass-through entity that is doing business
within and without Kentucky will pass through its
proportionate share of its receipts, property and payroll
to its corporation ownership to be included in the
corporation’s apportionment factor. A general
partnership formed after Jan. 1, 2006 that is doing
business within and without Kentucky will pass through
its proportionate share of receipts, property and payroll
to its corporation ownership to be included in the
corporation's apportionment factor.

Homeowner’s Associations

Any homeowner’s association that is required to file a
federal income tax return on Form 1120H is required to
file a Kentucky corporation income tax return on Form
720. That statement does not reflect a law change, but
rather a continuation of the Department of Revenue's
(DOR) long-standing interpretation of Kentucky’s
corporation income tax law. KRS 141.010(14)(c) defines
taxable net income in the case of a homeowner’s
association. If no income is taxable on the federal Form
1120H, no income is taxable on the Kentucky return.

For taxable years beginning on or after Jan. 1, 2005, and
before Jan. 1, 2007, a homeowner’s association that
meets the definition of corporation in KRS 141.010(24)
will be subject to the $175 minimum tax due if the
greater of its income or AMC calculations results in a
tax due of less than $175.

Homeowner’s associations will be exempt from the LLE
tax, including the $175 minimum tax for taxable years
beginning on or after Jan. 1, 2007.
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Certain Sales of Motor Vehicles Subject to Sales Tax

HB 380 provides an amendment to KRS 139.470(21)
regarding the sales tax exemption on sales of motor
vehicles as follows:

(@) Sold to a Kentucky resident, registered for use on the public
highways, and upon which any applicable tax levied by
KRS 138.460 has heen paid; or

(b) Sold to a nonresident of Kentucky if the nonresident
registers the motor vehicle in a state that:

1) allows residents of Kentucky to purchase motor vehicles
without payment of that state’s sales tax at the time
of sale; or

2) allows residents of Kentucky to remove the vehicle from
that state within a specific period for subsequent
registration and use in Kentucky without payment of
that state’s sales tax.

Effective Aug. 1, 2006, sales
of motor vehicles in Kentucky
to residents of states that do
not meet the exemption
criteria listed above are subject
to Kentucky sales tax. This
provision serves to equalize the taxation of motor
vehicles based upon how other states handle motor
vehicles purchased by Kentucky residents in their
jurisdictions. This law change will not alter the amount
of state tax a customer ultimately pays on the purchase
of a motor vehicle. For example, if a nonresident pays
Kentucky sales tax for a motor vehicle purchased in our
state, this customer should receive a credit against any

additional state sales and use tax due in the customer’s
state of residence.

Indiana residents are the only customers from a border
state that does not provide Kentucky residents the
treatment required for the exemption. Residents from
other states that do not qualify for the exemption are as
follows: Arizona, California, Florida, Massachusetts,
Michigan, South Carolina and Washington. The impact
of this legislation is that Kentucky car dealers, who
make sales in this state to residents of any of these
eight states, must collect Kentucky sales tax for
transactions on or after Aug. 1, 2006. The receipts
and tax should be reported and paid with the filing
of the dealer’s regular sales and use tax return.

In addition to the Kentucky sales and use tax return, a
supplemental sales tax schedule must be filed listing only
those sales to nonresidents (from the above eight states)
on which the Kentucky sales tax was due. This
supplemental schedule is to provide a breakdown of
the portion of the total sales and use tax reported on a
dealer’s sales tax return that specifically relates to sales
of motor vehicles to these nonresident customers. The
DOR will compile the information from these schedules
and make the appropriate transfers of these collections
into the Road Fund as required in the provisions of HB
380. If you need additional information on this topic,
contact the Taxpayer Assistance Branch of the Division
of Sales and Use Tax at (502) 564-5170.

Gasoline Excise Tax Rate

Under KRS 138.210 and KRS 138.220, the DOR is responsible for establishing
“‘ the average wholesale price (AWP) of gasoline for the purposes of calculating

the gasoline excise tax rate. The current price calculation is based on sales
data accumulated for the month of April 2006 and a grade and formulation
weighted average reflecting gasoline consumption patterns. For the quarter
commencing July 1, 2006, the DOR has determined the AWP of gasoline
increased to $1.476. Therefore, the rate is now 19.7 cents per gallon for gasoline
and 16.7 cents per gallon for special fuels and is inclusive of the 1.4 cents
Petroleum Storage Tank Environmental Assurance Fee. Additionally, the rate
for liquefied petroleum increased to 18.3 cents per gallon.
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State Property Tax Rate Set at 12.8 Cents
for 2006

The DOR has set the 2006
state real property tax rate at
12.8 cents per each $100 of
assessed value. KRS 132.020
requires the DOR to set the
real property rate by July 1 of
each year.

This rate is based on the

percentage increase of taxable real property from 2005
to 2006. If this increase is more than 4 percent after the
exclusion of property newly added to the tax roll during
2006, then the prior year rate must be reduced to limit
the revenue increase to 4 percent. Since the assessment
increase for 2006 is estimated at 6.6 percent, the state
rate must decline from 13.1 to 12.8 cents per $100 of
assessed value.

Kentucky Tax Alert comments and suggestions should be
addressed to the Office of Public Information, Finance Secretary’s
Office, Frankfort, Kentucky, (502) 564-9165, ext. 4500.

ErNIE FLETCHER, GOvernor

JoHN FaRRrIs, Secretary
Finance and Administration Cabinet

L]

L]

L]

L]

L]

L]

L]

L]

L]

L]

L]

L]

L]

L]

L]

L] ..
° MariaN Davis, Commissioner
: Department of Revenue
L]
L]
L]
L]
L]
L]
L]
L]
L]
L]
L]
L]
L]
L]
L]
L]

EOIOF ..o Jill Midkiff
Production/Design .......ccceveereerienernineiieenes Support Services
Publications Coordinator ...........ccccvevreercereenees Sarah Gilkison

The Kentucky Department of Revenue does not discriminate on
the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, religion, age or
disability in employment or the provision of services.

The Department of Revenue can be found at www.revenue.ky.gov.
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