
Human Resources 2022 PVA Summer Conference

Covington, Kentucky



WHAT’S NEW?

We would like to introduce our newest HR Liaison to PVA Land, Laura Monroe. She 
will be working to assist with some of the counties. Effective July 1, 2022, the office 
assignments will be as follow:

Cyndi Abrams (Adair - Grant)

Latrese Bellamy (Graves – McLean)

Laura Monroe (Madison – Woodford)



CONTACTS

Cyndi Abrams

Adair - Grant 

Phone: (502) 564-6937

Fax: (502) 564-2613

Cyndi.Abrams@ky.gov

Latrese Bellamy

Graves - McLean

Phone: (502) 564-6938

Fax: (502) 564-2613

LatreseV.Bellamy@ky.gov

Stacy Perry, Division Director
Phone: (502) 564-0408 - Fax: (502) 564-2613  

StacyM.Perry@ky.gov

Madison - Woodford

Phone: (502) 564-2303

Fax: (502) 564-2613

Laura.Monre@ky.gov

Laura Monroe

mailto:LatreseV.Bellamy@ky.gov
mailto:LatreseV.Bellamy@ky.gov
mailto:LatreseV.Bellamy@ky.gov
mailto:LatreseV.Bellamy@ky.gov


Mailing and Physical Address

Finance and Administration Cabinet

Division of Human Resources

200 Mero Street, 5th Floor

Frankfort, Kentucky 40622

Note: Please include Attn: for Liaison’s name. 



Timesheet Reporting Tutorials

Employee Self Service (ESS)

Tutorials

• Time Recording Basics

• Accurate Time Reporting

https://personnel.ky.gov/Pages/learning-KHRIS-ESS.aspx

Manager Self Service (MSS)

Tutorials

• Time Approval Basics

• Accurate Time Reporting

https://personnel.ky.gov/Pages/learning-KHRIS-MSS.aspx

https://personnel.ky.gov/Pages/learning-KHRIS-ESS.aspx
https://personnel.ky.gov/Pages/learning-KHRIS-MSS.aspx


Timesheet Reporting & Timesheet Error

• Timesheet musts be submitted and approved by the scheduled day and 
time listed on calendar.

• Timesheets not submitted may cause a delay in payment. Part-time 
employees may not receive full payment if hours are not submitted and 
approved.

• If there is a delay, employee will be paid during an off-cycle or by a manual 
adjustment. These will cause the employee to be paid after pay day and 
sometimes would be disbursed on the next pay day.



Timesheet Reporting & Timesheet Error
Compensatory Leave Time and Overtime Pay

Any compensatory and/or overtime incurred will be billed to the county and the
PVA must submit reimbursement to the attention of Kim Holt.

If compensatory time is accrued, an employee must use those hours first,
before taking annual leave. A PVA is responsible for knowing if an employee is
carrying a compensatory time balance.

The first step in determining how to handle compensatory or overtime issues
involves classifying a position as either “non-exempt” or “exempt” in accordance
with the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act.

Note: Non-Exempt employees working more than 37.5 hours per week should be reported
as earning compensatory leave up to 40 hours. If an employee works more than 40 hours
per week, it should be reported as overtime at 1.5 time’s hourly rate on the timesheet.



COMP TIME

An employee would have to take time off during the week before they earned 
more than 2.50 hours within a week (Sunday through Saturday).

They can earn up to 2.50 without going into overtime if they do not take leave. 
If they take leave, then they can earn 2.50 plus the number of leave taken 
prior within the same week. 

An employee would have to earn and burn COMP if the PVA does not want to 
pay overtime.



Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA)
Non-Exempt and Exempt

The federal statutes and regulations require that the appropriate "test" be applied to each individual who
is exempt from the overtime provisions of FLSA. Be sure to classify employees appropriately when
completing the FLSA Exempt Test Form.

Non-Exempt Employees

If a position is NOT an executive, administrative, or professional job in accordance with the established guidelines and
the job is paid on a salaried - not hourly - basis, the position is considered to be “non-exempt”. These positions will earn
compensatory leave time for any hours worked beyond the standard 37.50 hour work week until forty hours are worked.
An employee in a “non-exempt” position is entitled to receive time and a half for each hour worked over forty in a
workweek.

If the employee is paid by the hour or is a part-time employee working less than 100 hours per month, they will be
paid for the hours worked up to forty hours per week. For work time in excess of forty in a week, these employees also
have the option of being paid at one and a half times their regular rate of pay or earning one and a half hours of
compensatory leave for each hour worked over forty.

Exempt Employees

If a position is considered an executive, administrative, or professional job, employees in these positions are
considered “exempt” under the federal guidelines. Typical PVA office employees that would fall into this category include
the Chief Deputy and Chief of Staff. Employees in exempt positions are entitled to compensatory leave time for all hours
worked in excess of their regular work schedule.



PERSONNEL PROCESSING

• Complete the Request for Personnel Action (RPA) & forward to Property Tax 
Budget Branch (Kim Holt) dorpvaapprovals@ky.gov timely (15 days before the 
effective date) and with accuracy.

• Complete the state application (must meet minimum qualifications for the 
salary grade) and forward to Division of Human Resources (DHR) (15 days 
before the effective date) with any college and/or work experiences. The paid 
work experience determines the candidate’s qualifications.  

• All forms on hiring checklist must be completed and/or signed. (Packet and 
updated forms can be obtained through the PVA Network or your Liaison).

mailto:dorpvaapprovals@ky.gov


Onboarding (Appointments)

Confirm with potential employee whether or not they have 
had previous state, county, city or teacher’s service (KERS, 
CERS or KTRS).

To ensure proper actions for benefit purposes, it is 
imperative that DHR is notified prior to hiring. 

Please complete and submit all forms on the hiring checklist 
(Some forms may require supervisor or witness signature).



Exiting (Separations)

To ensure proper actions for benefit purposes, it is imperative that DHR is 
notified prior to exiting. 

• Submit RPA within 15 days upon notice.

• Employee should notify DHR if taking on a position with a government 
entity (KERS, CERS or KTRS).

• If retiring, the 6000H Form is to be completed by your HR Liaison.

Note: Please include last day worked and/or retirement effective date in comments.



RETIREMENT TIERS
Kentucky Public Pensions Authority (KPPA)

TIER 1

Members

Participating

before 

September 1, 2008 

Members

Participating 

on or after 

September 1, 2008

through 

December 31, 2013

TIER 3

Members

Participating 

January 1, 2014 

and after

TIER 2



RE-EMPLOYMENT AFTER 
RETIREMENT…TWELVE (12) MONTH RULE

Within twelve (12) months of retirement: 

• If a retired member seeks employment or begins serving as a volunteer with
a participating agency within twelve (12) months of his or her effective
retirement date, both the member and participating agency must notify
KPPA by submitting Form 6751.

After twelve (12) months of retirement:

• Neither a retired member nor a participating agency are required to notify,
seek a final determination, or submit forms to KPPA related to any
employment, independent contractor, leased employee or volunteering,
accepted twelve (12) months after the member’s effective retirement date.



RE-EMPLOYMENT AFTER RETIREMENT…Continued 
ELECTED OFFICIALS

Elected to the same office within twelve (12) months:

If an elected official participating in one of the systems administered by KPPA retires
and is elected to the same office within twelve (12) months of his or her retirement date,
the member’s retirement will be voided, and the member will be required to repay all
retirement benefits.

Break in Service: In almost all reemployment situations, the retired member is also
required to observe a three (3) calendar month break in service from his or her
effective retirement date before returning to work for a participating employer.

To learn more about how KPPA systems operates, go to KYRET.KY.GOV 



Education Incentive Upon Retirement
Education incentives can only be disbursed once a year. Therefore, if anyone 
plans to retire in December, they will not receive payment for carry-over hours 
in the same year they had already received payment. 

To receive payment, their retirement date must be effective February 1st of the 
following year. 

For 2022 incentives, if not seeking for re-election, you must have completed 
hours two (2) months prior to retirement. 

(Example: If retiring in November, must have hours by September so incentive 
can be disbursed in October.) 



Insurance Qualifying Events
*You have 35 calendar days from the date of your qualifying event to 

submit your paperwork.

Health

• If you have experienced a 
life-changing (qualifying) 
event a new child, 
divorce, marriage, loss of 
coverage, Medicare or 
Medicaid, etc. – you can 
adjust your health benefit 
options to reflect your 
current needs and 
status.

• Complete an 
enrollment/change 
application and submit to 
your HR Liaison. 

Dental & Vision

• Please contact your HR 
Liaison for specifics. 

• Forms can be found 
under Benefits.

• https://personnel.ky.gov

Life

https://personnel.ky.gov/


2022 LivingWell Promise

Complete your LivingWell Promise by July 1, 2022 to earn $480 in premium discounts for 2023!

To enjoy more moments of better well-being and earn your reward, just complete one easy 
activity:

Biometric screening – Get a screening onsite, at a doctor’s office or through LabCorp.
OR

Health Assessment – Get a personalized health report online in just 10 minutes.

Visit KEHPLivingWell.com to complete your Promise today.

Questions? Visit KEHPLivingWell.com and the “Rewards” tab or contact WebMD Customer 
Service at 866-746-1316.



REMINDERS
KY.GOV EMAIL

• PLEASE REMEMBER THAT ALL EMPLOYEES HAVE AN KY.GOV EMAIL ACCOUNT. 
THEIR KY.GOV IS USED TO SEND VERY IMPORTANT INFORMATION FROM 
PERSONNEL TO THE EMPLOYEE (THIS CAN INCLUDE, HEALTH INSURANCE, 
AUDITS AND OTHER VITAL INFORMATION.

• PLEASE ENCOURAGE THE EMPLOYEES TO ACCESS THEIR KY.GOV EMAIL 
PERIODICALLY.

W-2 Online Election 

• Employees can log into KHRIS ESS to make their W-2 election. Please continue to 
remind your employees of this feature and encourage them to log into ESS to make 
their online election by the end of the year, especially during onboarding. This online 
version is available to employees nearly 1-2 weeks earlier than the mailed version and 
offers the continued ability to re-print on demand. 



Locked Out of KHRIS

When the error message appears in KHRIS stating that your record 
is locked, there are three (3) ways to unlock your record.

1. When in the Time Entry, Personal Profile, or Open Enrollment, 
choose the 'Close' button before leaving. The close button will 
unlock your record.

2. Log off and log back on.

3. Wait 30 minutes and your record will automatically unlock 
after this time period.





CONTACTS

• Cyndi Abrams

• Adair - Grant 

• Phone: (502) 564-6937

• Fax: (502) 564-2613

• Cyndi.Abrams@ky.gov

• Latrese Bellamy

• Graves - McLean

• Phone: (502) 564-6938

• Fax: (502) 564-2613

• LatreseV.Bellamy@ky.gov

Stacy Perry, Division Director
Phone: (502) 564-0408 - Fax: (502) 564-2613  

StacyM.Perry@ky.gov

• Madison - Woodford

• Phone: (502) 564-2303

• Fax: (502) 564-2613

• Laura.Monre@ky.gov

• Laura Monroe

mailto:LatreseV.Bellamy@ky.gov
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Be Safe 
and Stay 

Well!!


